PM to dedicate crop varieties with special traits to nation

Contact Counsellor

PM to dedicate crop varieties with special traits to nation

  • Prime Minister will dedicate to the nation 35 crop varieties with special traits in a nation-wide programme today.
  • Meant to create mass awareness for adoption of climate resilient technologies, the pan-India event will be held at all ICAR institutes, state and central agricultural universities and Krishi Vigyan Kendras (KVKs).
  • PM will also distribute the Green Campus Award to the Agricultural Universities.

About Crop varieties with special traits

  • The crop varieties with special traits have been developed by the Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR) to address the twin challenges of climate change and malnutrition.
  • Thirty-five such crop varieties with special traits like climate resilience and higher nutrient content have been developed in the year 2021.
  • These include a drought tolerant variety of chickpea, wilt and sterility mosaic resistant pigeonpea, early maturing variety of soybean, disease resistant varieties of rice and biofortified varieties of wheat.
  • These special traits crop varieties also include those that address the anti-nutritional factors found in some crops that adversely affect human and animal health.
  • Examples of such varieties include Pusa Double Zero Mustard 33, first Canola quality hybrid RCH 1 with <2% erucic acid and <30 ppm glucosinolates.
  • Other varieties with special traits have been developed in soybean, sorghum, and baby corn, among others.

Green Campus Awards

  • The Green Campus Awards has been initiated to motivate the State and Central Agricultural Universities to develop or adopt such practices that will render their campuses more green and clean.
  • It will also motivate students to get involved in ‘Swachh Bharat Mission’, ‘Waste to Wealth Mission’ and community connect as per the National Education Policy-2020.


  • It was established on 16 July 1929 as a registered society under the Societies Registration Act, 1860.
  • It is an autonomous organisation under the Department of Agricultural Research and Education (DARE), Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare, Government of India.
  • It is the apex body for coordinating, guiding and managing research and education in agriculture including horticulture, fisheries and animal sciences in the entire country.
  • It is located at New Delhi.
  • With 102 ICAR institutes and 71 agricultural universities spread across the country this is one of the largest national agricultural organisation in the world.