Lionel Messi and Alexia Putellas win Ballon d’Or awards

Contact Counsellor

Lionel Messi and Alexia Putellas win Ballon d’Or awards

  • Lionel Messi won the men’s Ballon d’Or for a record seventh time.
  • Alexia Putellas won the women’s Ballon d’Or.
  • The ceremony was organised by France Football where the best men’s and women’s players were judged.

Men’s and Women’s Ballon d’Or awards

  • Alexia Putellas became the third winner of the women's award for an outstanding season with Barcelona and Spain.
  • The 34-year-old Messi led Argentina to the Copa America title after losing in four major international finals.
  • Messi finished with 613 points to top prolific Bayern Munich and Poland striker Robert Lewandowski on 580.
  • The 2020 awards were canceled because the coronavirus pandemic disrupted the season.
  • Putellas helped Barca win the treble and scored 26 goals in 42 games overall.
  • The midfielder netted in the Champions League final against Chelsea, and she was named UEFA women’s player of the year.
  • The only previous women’s award winners are Norway striker Ada Hegerberg in 2018, and U.S. forward Megan Rapinoe in 2019.
  • Putellas tallied 186 points to finish far ahead of club and country teammate Jenni Hermoso on 84.
  • Messi, meanwhile, counts two more Ballon d’Or awards than longtime rival Cristiano Ronaldo, who was sixth in the voting.
  • Cristiano Ronaldo finishes outside the top three in the Ballon d’Or for the first time since 2010.
  • Messi's staggering tally of 672 goals for Barcelona included an extraordinary 50-goal league season in 2012; 96 league goals across 2012 and 2013; eight Spanish league and six Champions League scoring titles.
  • In other awards, the Kopa Trophy for the best under 21 player went to 19-year-old Spain and Barcelona midfielder Pedri.
  • Bayern Munich’s Robert Lewandowski won the “Striker of the year” while Italy stopper Gianluigi Donnarumma clinched the best goalkeeper award
  • Chelsea won the best club award.

Ballon d’Or 2021 Winners:

  • Ballon d’Or (Men): Lionel Messi (PSG/Argentina)
  • Club of the year: Chelsea Football Club
  • Yashin Trophy for best goalkeeper: Gianluigi Donnarumma (PSG/Italy)
  • Ballon d’Or (Women): Alexia Putellas (Barcelona/Spain)
  • Striker of the year: Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich/Poland)
  • Kopa Trophy for best young male player: Pedri (Barcelona/Spain)

About Ballon d’Or Award

  • Awarded by France Football magazine, the Ballon d’Or has been given out to men every year since 1956.
  • Between 2010 and 2015, the award was temporarily merged with the FIFA World Player of the Year (founded in 1991) and known as the FIFA Ballon d'Or.
  • But the partnership ended in 2016, and the award reverted to the Ballon d'Or.
  • Whereas FIFA also reverted to its own separate annual award The Best FIFA Men's Player.
  • In 2007, the award became a global prize with all professional footballers from around the world being eligible.
  • Stanley Matthews of England was the inaugural winner of the Ballon d'Or.
  • Lionel Messi has won the award a record seven times, followed by Cristiano Ronaldo with five.
  • Lev Yashin is the only goalkeeper to win the award.